Honda CR-V Owners Club Forums banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

New roof rack noise level

21K views 15 replies 13 participants last post by  osbornk 
#1 ·
Hi folks-

Newbie here with a 2011 CRV EX-L. My wife and I just installed new roof rack to our CRV. They are the OE Hondas we bought on line. Installing it was no problem. The problem is when you drive, it, there's a low whistling noise coming from the wind. I'm wondering if that's pretty standard with the rack.

Also wanted to know if there's a way to alleviate the problem by buying a wind deflector and installing it in front of the sun roof. Would that work?

Does anyone know of any other solution? My wife is already complaining, which means, we're going to have to take it off and mount it only when needed.

#3 ·
Two question for you.

1. What kind of box is that? How much was it?
2. Where did you get the sunroof deflector?

I have a sneaking suspicion that the 'howling' noise is coming from the holes underneath the bars. When I attached the bars to the side clip, I noticed there were 4 screws on each bar. They hold the bar to the clip. When I installed the bars, I couldn't get the bolt to go straight down so I had to remove a few of the screws. Then it worked fine but didn't put in the screws. Therefore there are holes underneath the bars.

Tomorrow, I'm going to cover it with electrical tape and see if that doesn't get rid of it. If it doesn't, the bars comes off. It's too annoying.

#6 ·