PDA

View Full Version : Whats With The Green Links?


Black Pearl
05-13-2009, 04:14 PM
I have seen two posts today that had a word in green with double underlining. When you place your mouse pointer on the word an advertisment popped up. Where in the hell is that coming from?

Is it the site software doing in automatically?

Is it the member putting the link in?

Is the site under attack from some third party advertising agency?


EDIT: Well I can attest that it is not the members doing it. It is doing it in my posts as well. I can guarantee you that it will be a cold day in hell when I start do things to encourage annoying ads. Here is the words I have seen so far:

honda dealer vehicle dealership

whoa
05-13-2009, 04:31 PM
Interesting. I have yet to see what you just described. Just wondering if your machine is causing this (software)??? Anyone else?

Black Pearl
05-13-2009, 04:34 PM
As I am reading your post, "vehicle" and "dealership" in the last line of my post is green and double underlined.


EDIT: Vehicle is green and underlined in this post.


EDIT 2: It is doing it over at the Element Owners Club also.

whoa
05-13-2009, 04:39 PM
Again, I see nothing. Leads me to believe it's only on your machine. Would like to hear from others as well!

Black Pearl
05-13-2009, 04:50 PM
http://www.netlingo.com/word/double-underlined-links.php

Certain browsers will not see it according to the above link.

OK, so where is it coming from?

Serj22
05-13-2009, 04:59 PM
What happens is if you didn't delete your cookies after awhile and had previously searched for words, like vehicle or dealership, or both, it will underline the words in sites you go to as a sort of reminder. Both firefox and internet explorer do it. Clearing your cookies should make it go away.

Black Pearl
05-13-2009, 05:09 PM
I deleted the cookies. The green words are still there. Never had it before, at least on this site.

Serj22
05-13-2009, 05:17 PM
Try going to your "find" bar at the top of the screen, or hit Ctrl + F and see if there's some words in the search bar. The next step is to go to the site by typing it in manualy. Most of the time, you will type "www.crv" and the window will already direct you the link, but it could have been one where you did a search on google, somehow, so try also typing in www.crvownersclub.com manually and making sure there's no slashes or extra parts.

GTCB-chris
05-13-2009, 05:29 PM
its an advertisement, i have notice an influx in adds on this site, ill talk to the admins and see if we are under spam attack, but im pretty sure its just adds. its a pain tough.

electric V
05-13-2009, 07:53 PM
It is the aliens. I see them too...........breaking up.......need tinfoil..........

gary696
05-13-2009, 09:05 PM
As I am reading your post, "vehicle" and "dealership" in the last line of my post is green and double underlined.


EDIT: Vehicle is green and underlined in this post.


EDIT 2: It is doing it over at the Element Owners Club also.

I get the same.

GTCB-chris
05-13-2009, 09:31 PM
It is the aliens. I see them too...........breaking up.......need tinfoil..........
website up!

spdrcr5
05-13-2009, 11:23 PM
This is just another style of advertising. There should be no more than 4 words highlighted on any page. If you hover over the word you will see the pop-up, then if you click on it you'll be taken to the ad itself.

electric V
05-14-2009, 12:45 AM
website up!

I had to call it before you did:D

kgf3076
05-14-2009, 07:14 AM
I deleted the cookies. The green words are still there. Never had it before, at least on this site.I'd suggest that you run something like Spybot S&D and see if you haven't picked up something that you really don't need.

Black Pearl
05-14-2009, 07:22 AM
This is just another style of advertising. There should be no more than 4 words highlighted on any page. If you hover over the word you will see the pop-up, then if you click on it you'll be taken to the ad itself.

So is this an approved form of advertising? Is the site making any revenue of it?

It sort of strikes me like Ralphy's decoder pin in the Christmas Story. After a long wait for it to arrive in the mail, Ralphy decodes the secret message:

D--R--I--N--K----Y--O--U--R----O--V--A--L--T--I--N--E.

Here I am thinking that a member put in some kind of cool link and then what do I get

B--U--Y----A----T--O--Y--O--T--A.

I don't understand how annoying people is effective advertising.

GTCB-chris
05-14-2009, 07:45 AM
I don't understand how annoying people is effective advertising.
so, so true.

Serj22
05-14-2009, 08:44 AM
I'm sure every time you click on one of the links they get a hit and say "hooray!"

I'm getting

b--u--y--a---s---u---z---u---k---i

and

y---o---u---r---c---a--r--n---e--e---d---s---a---n---e---n---g---i---n---e-

electric V
05-14-2009, 05:40 PM
You need tinfoil hats.

I got some weird ones from my own posts. Like subaru had them. Now no one needs to tell me much about subru Expecially If i am talking about them in my own post. seems a little redundant. but if the site makes money off of it I really can't complain.

Serj22
05-14-2009, 06:23 PM
hahahaha. Maybe this will be more fun than I thought. It's like the advert knew what you were going to say...

I'd say it's an effective form of advertising, at least it doesn't forcively pop-up.

electric V
05-14-2009, 08:48 PM
Thats pretty funny. I didn't even notice that after I posted it:D It must be psychic.

Energy One
05-18-2009, 09:04 AM
This is an annoying and tasteless form of advertising in my opinion.

tkcr
05-18-2009, 10:44 AM
I'm getting them too. I noticed it just in the last few days.:confused:

Black Pearl
05-18-2009, 11:18 AM
I assume the site is getting revenue out this, so, if it helps to ensure the future our forum, what the hell. After you get used to them they are very easy to avoid.

Who cares if we seem tacky and tasteless to the rest of the world?

GTCB-chris
05-18-2009, 12:51 PM
I'm getting them too. I noticed it just in the last few days.:confused:
not to hijack, but did you get my mudflaps? i sure hope so it cost $11 in shipping