Honda CR-V Owners Club Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've had my CRV for about 3 years now, and after checking the trans fluid, found it needs replacing. I've never done it before and have some questions

1. How much goes in? I've checked the manual and have looked around on here and the web but haven't really found a straight answer
2. For the flushing procedure, would it hurt if I was to do the flushing procedure over a period of 2-3 weeks since money is an issue?
3. Can I find the Honda ATF at a store like Autozone or O'Reillys?

Thank you in advance

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Also have one more question:

I've seen around that the Z1 fluid is no longer being manufactured. If that's true, will the DW1 effect the transmission in any way since it's an older model?

·
Registered
3,692 Posts
Honda Z-1 was a disaster on the Odyessys' automatic transmission longevity, and still many said to ONLY use it because Honda knows best. Turned out they were way wrong!

It takes aprox 3.5 qts for one drain and fill.
Driving two to three wks between drains and fills, is usually fine and recommended, unless the fluid is black or worse. :eek:
If your atf looks like it needed to be replaced, you should do at least 3 drain and fills (with driving in between changes with Honda DW-1 or Valvoline MaxLife Dex/Merc atf or another compatible synthetic atf) or perhaps 4. The Valvoline stuff can be purchased at places like WalMart for under $18/gal jug. So, 3 jugs (under $60) will let you do at least 3.
There are several write-ups in these forums and on youtube on how to do the drains and fills. You do not have to even jack up the CRV.

Yes, you may notice a difference using DW-1 instead of the old Z-1, but only for the better.
Remember to check the atf level properly and that it is between the two indicators, or even with the top mark.
Buffalo4

·
Registered
1,646 Posts