Honda CR-V Owners Club Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 78 Posts

·
Registered
2001 Crv SE
214 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 2001 cr-v se that is getting some much needed love. It has been properly maintained throughout its 320,000 miles of existence. I purchased it about 40,000 miles ago with a bad transmission for 400 bones. I am a mechanic by trade so I had to get it. At the time of purchase I could see many new parts, including coilovers and tires. So i knew it was worth it right there. Then when they showed me the stack of service receipts from the honda dealer, i just said i'd take it. This vehicle had been perfectly maintained, but the auto trans going out was enough for them to let it go.

So i got a transmission from the salvage yard for 250, went ahead and did timing belt kit and cam seals as well. One of the springs broke on the monroe oe spectrum coilovers a few months ago and I have some covid spare time. So the rabbit hole has been opened.

In the past few months i have replaced all 4 coilovers with an "autoshack" brand set from amazon. Yes. Someone is selling on amazon under autoshack and it's not autozone lol. Anyway with the monroe oe spectrums crapping out within a couple years, i figured, why not try these. Following is a list of everything replaced in the last few months leading up to now.

"Loaded struts"-Coilovers all around
Swaybar endlinks-front and rear
Rear toe arms/compensator arms
Trailing arm bushings
Rear adjustable upper control arms
Rear left lower control arm
Front adjustable upper control arms
Right front cv shaft
Honda pcv valve
Wix fuel filter
Air filter
NGK spark plugs
NGK spark plug wires
Good lifetime warranty cap and rotor
All 5 engine/trans mounts