Honda CR-V Owners Club Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My SRS light is on and my Honda Dealer has said that I need a new SRS Control Unit.

The cost of this is £1,100 including installation!!!!

Is it possible to replace this myself? If so, how do I do it? Where do I buy the correct unit from? Will I be able to install it or do I need to get a Honda Dealer to do the install?

I am not a mechanic but I have friends who are and will help me.

Any help is massively appreciated as there is no way I can afford the £1,100... :-(

Thanks everyone....

:)

·
Registered
3,915 Posts
Check out ebay. Around $40 to have it rebuilt. There are many options besides a dealer rip off.
Try youtube for ideas on installing it yourself and just plain google.
Buffalo4
PS: Did you ever get the codes off it?

·
Registered
2,007 Posts
Depending on the cost, you might consider a used unit. From your post, I take you are in the UK, from the UK Wheeler Dealer TV show we get here, I am surprised by the various parts sources and re-builders you have available.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Depending on the cost, you might consider a used unit. From your post, I take you are in the UK, from the UK Wheeler Dealer TV show we get here, I am surprised by the various parts sources and re-builders you have available.
Thanks for your help. Yes I am in the UK. Perhaps I should have said. If I do buy a used unit, are they plug and play? Or do I need the dealer to re-program it and install it? Is it easy to buy the correct unit?

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Check out ebay. Around $40 to have it rebuilt. There are many options besides a dealer rip off.
Try youtube for ideas on installing it yourself and just plain google.
Buffalo4
PS: Did you ever get the codes off it?