Honda CR-V Owners Club Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys,

I'm 21 years old and inherited this car from my father when I was a sophomore in high school. It's been a 1 owner car since he bought it new. I'm looking for any insight on getting a maintenance job done before I sell the car and get a smaller, more fuel efficient car. I drive on a 3/4 mile gravel road everyday and am surely convinced that the shocks are completely gone. I have no idea how much this would cost to replace all 4 sides. This suspension feels off, as when I turn around corners the car tends to gravitate to the side turning giving me and the passenger less stability. The last time I had a major tune up, my brother who is a mechanic nut, turned me onto a friend of his that knows what he's doing. I went in with my suspension problem but was only serviced for spark plugs. As you can tell, I'm not very knowledgeable of cars. I've had a full oil change at Jiffy Lube every 5k miles. Other than the suspension and shocks problems, the car has never been in an accident. Accelerating feels slower compared to my mom's car (she has the exact same model) and accelerating in her car feels smoother. Should I pay $100 or so for a mechanic to check out the car overall? I'm sure the valves need cleaning, filter needs replaced, fluids done, tired rotated or realigned. I'm really trying to avoid going into the Honda dealership with their overpriced and shady work. I want to actually know my mechanic. Also, I had a huge brake job done a few years back, and they feel great still. I'm just trying to get this car running smooth before I sell her. Any insight is much appreciated! Thanks.

-Sam

·
Registered
2,822 Posts
I'd say jiffy lube has shady work not the Honda dealership. You probably need new spark plugs, valves adjusted, and it wouldn't hurt to replace your suspension.

Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App

·
Everything in Moderation
7,644 Posts