Honda CR-V Owners Club Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All, I'm here to compare notes and learn about my car that is having a mid life crisis. Her name is Babe and we've been through a lot together. Best get right to the point in case the best pair of eyes to help me see this post: Her current problem, not my car in the video, but definitely the same working noise happening under acceleration. I've been researching the issue for 3 months and have read transmission vacuum hose and modulator, drive shaft, ilder, and a host of other problems. I recently replaced the driver's side CV joint axle assembly, sensor and ball joint, and the transmission fluid (no metal shavings on the magnetic plug).

If you would be so kind as to watch the video and take a listen to the whirring noise that starts happening on acceleration after the 0:0:11 mark, and let me know what you think I'd be very grateful.

https://youtu.be/aj5tGrICoYk

·
Registered
1,593 Posts
The Automatic Belt Tensioner Pulley and/or the Drive Belt Idler Pulley are possibly two sources of noise coming from the engine compartment. Worth checking out. Good Luck!

·
Registered
3,240 Posts
Jimbob 15 has good pointers. It sounds like a whirring bearing. Can you recreate the sound in neutral? If it's coming from the engine bay. Most likely it's one of the bearing. How's the power steering fluid level? You might need to remove the serpentine belt then manually turn the pulleys one at a time be sure that you make note the routing of the belt. Just to give you a heads up it'll be tight in there. Let us know.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Wow! Thank you so much for the speedy replies and great ideas of places to check. My power steering fluid is low, it's on the list of 'flush and replace' that I'm doing in the spring.