Honda CR-V Owners Club Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello!

To make a long story short, my 2006 CRV with 163k miles is giving me trouble.

Went out yesterday, as I was pulling into a parking space, the car stalled. Tried to start car, and it turns over, and catches as if it's starting, but doesn't start. Battery is fine. My initial thought was fuel pump, filter, clogged line, spark plugs, something in that direction.

Have it towed to my mechanic, who I trust completely. He checks all of the above, and they are fine. Start checking out engine. Compression test is slightly low, and oil is slightly low. He said it looks like timing chain skipped, and it needs to be replaced. Their facility doesn't do timing chains. Call all over the city, and keep hearing "dealer only."

Call dealer, tow the car over. Service guy calls and says the timing chain caused a lot of damage, and engine needs to be replaced.

I am NOT a mechanic. I grew up in a car family. My grandfather was a mechanic and owned a garage, my dad was a backyard mechanic. So essentially, I have an awareness or cars, but no detailed knowledge.

I ask what kind of damage there is, and don't get a straight answer. I'm not saying there isn't damage, but what damage? How? Bent piston? I guess I'm just trying to figure out my best course of action. I called back my regular mechanic, and he feels that replacing the timing chain is a big job and they can make more money by replacing the engine, for a similar amount of work. Honda quoted me about $1000 for the timing chain, but they want $3500 (parts and labor) to replace the engine. My mechanic feels like I could get it done for less somewhere else.

Thoughts?

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks. I actually did, and they're about 30 miles from where my car is at the dealer. It would mean paying for another tow, paying for him to check it out (which he would deduct from any work).