Honda CR-V Owners Club Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings,

Posting for a friend, so I apologize in advance if I don't have all the details. I searched for a while but didn't find anything that resembled this specific issue.

2011 CRV "loaded" with every electronic option offered. Her words, not mine.

She lives in a downtown city environment, and as such only uses her car on occasion. Here parking garage is about a 10 minute walk for her. She either walks or takes public transportation most of the time.

The issue: If she leaves her car for more than 12-14 days at a time without driving it, there is not enough power in the battery to start the car. After having her dealer look at it several times, they say that this is "normal" because of all the electronics in the car that require "keep alive" voltage.

I'll be the first to admit, A) I have not looked at/tried any diagnosing with the car, and B) I am by no means an expert when it comes to car repair, but I have a very good background in automotive, mechanical, electrical and electronic functionality / repair.

The dealer's explanation just doesn't suit me. So I am relying on the brain trust here.

Is this in fact a common issue with these vehicles?

I can leave my loaded Ford explorer for several months at a time and it starts right up.

Her solution thus far (on the dealer's recommendation) is to keep a charged jump box in it, and jump it when she needs it. She of course doesn't like doing this but if it's the only solution, so be it. She also dislikes having to reset her radio stations etc every time as well.

If in fact, this is the way it has to be, I suggested a phone enabled, smart-start remote car starter, that she could use once a week from her apartment to start the car, let it run for a few minutes etc...

Any suggestions/comments welcome. Thanks.

·
Registered
189 Posts