Honda CR-V Owners Club Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi!

I just purchased a 2015 CR-V LX and am wanting to change out my OEM factory speakers while keeping the factory head unit in place (at least for now). I’ve looked at a ton of speakers online and the top two I’ve come across are the:

• Kicker 43DSC6504
  • JL Audio C1-650x
The factory stereo is rated at 160 watts. I’m new to CR-V’s and aftermarket stereo equipment. Can anyone tell me which of the two is better, or recommend another brand? I may look at adding an amp and sub down the road, but for now I am looking for the best 6.5 speakers to replace the ones currently in my CR-V. I mainly listen to rock, old school rap and house music, so I would like them have decent bass.

Any suggestions/recommendations are greatly appreciated!

Thanks,
Dustin

·
Everything in Moderation
8,077 Posts
You might ask your question to the folks at Crutchfield, or at a local car audio store. (The local guys will probably suggest the brands that they carry..)

Consider installing a subwoofer for the base. Some Vs fitted them under the drivers seat, or in the spare tire well.

·
Registered
35 Posts
I would go with the JL Audio as they would probably sound better in the long run when you change the rest of your equipment.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I appreciate the responses! I ended up going with (4) Kicker 43DSC6504 speakers, a 10 inch Zstat sub in a custom ported box, and 2 Zstat amps mounted under the passenger seat to power the sub and door speakers. It sounds great, however I am sacrificing cargo space with the sub. I most likely will be upgrading to the custom JL side panel subs once my wife and I have kids so I can get that cargo space back. Loving my new CR-V!!!

·
Registered
35 Posts
Great to hear, enjoy your music man! I need to get an amp for my car soon. I got a portable JL Audio powered sub that I can remove easily when I need the extra space.

·