Honda CR-V Owners Club Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of December's Ride of the Month Challenge!
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I feel like a dipstick ...............

We bought a used 2016 CR-V EX today from a Honda dealer with 28K miles on it. The vehicle service reports showed a an oil change by the selling dealer, and I have to confess, I did not even CHECK the oil before buying it.

Engine sounded great, drove fine, etc. Car is in nice shape.

After we got home (100 miles), I checked the oil and noticed:
1) The oil LEVEL is at the top 'hole' = good
2) The oil color is nice and clean ('honey' or clearer) = good
3) some rust on the upper portion of the dipstick (saw some reports on the web that refer to this as 'peeling')
4) some dark crud on the tip of the dipstick .......... I wiped it clean/re-inserted it/re-examined it several times - less crud each time

I've been changing oil for 40 years - not sure I've ever seen the rust and crud before. Is this a dipstick issue ? Dipstick TUBE issue ? An engine issue ?

Please advise

·
Everything in Moderation
2006 CR-V EX, 5MT
12,154 Posts
I'd be most concerned about the 'crud' on the very bottom of the stick. Perhaps enough to change/drain the oil and inspect what comes out. If the engine is clean under the valve cover (look into the filler cap) it will be OK. If not, maybe it was leased by someone who didn't change oil. :mad: :confused:

As for the 'peeling', that could be a result of the car sitting idle on the dealer lot? Any idea how long it was sitting before you bought it?

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
The Carfax service reports showed the 1st oil changed at 5000 miles (higher than I would have gone) and about 7000 miles for each change after that, so probably not too bad for a lease. (Personally, I never go beyond 5000, even with synthetic.)