Honda CR-V Owners Club Forums banner

1 - 20 of 192 Posts

·
Registered
866 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
*statistically it is improbable with some limitations. Read on!

I conducted a statistical analysis of 54 fillups. There's much more analysis of other variables (not shown) but 54 tanks isn't enough to go deeper than this. If everything pans out I'll be able to tell if you if summer vs. winter gas matters and if gas brand matters, among other things.

First off, I know this goes against what others have said. I haven't seen anything close to this robust, nor controlled for weather and driving style, which this analysis is.

First off, statistics is what my degree is in and I practice it daily.

Over the 54 fillups, since June 29th, 2017 to today, I have varied the octane between 87 and 93 somewhat randomly (I always tried to do 2-3 tanks in a row before switching, sometimes more). I ended up with 33 fillups @ 87 octane and 21 @ 93 octane.

I also collected, from the iMid, average speed on Trip A and then reset it after each fillup. I'm using this as a very rough analog of driving style. This is a commuter car and most of my driving is consistent on the interstate.

MPG was manually calculated, I didn't rely on iMid for that.

Finally, I downloaded NOAA average daily temperature data from NOAA's temperature station at a nearby airport, and averaged those across the dates between fillups. So I have average outside temperature per tank measured.