Honda CR-V Owners Club Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 4WD 1998 cr-v with a 5 speed MT. It has 141,XXX miles on it. I get about 21 mpg. I am planning on driving from Virginia to Colorado (1850 miles one way) to ski. I am bringing one friend who will share in the driving.
The car is in excellent condition - no complaints so far. Shifting is snappy and the clutch doesn't slip at all. The engine still sounds and feels new.
Does anyone have any advice about how to tackle such a long road trip? I have never done any trip this far before.
Some other things to consider: I am trying to save as much money as possible. I intend to camp (either in a tent or in the car).

THANKS!

·
Registered
1,098 Posts
How long do you have to take this trip? I'm usually toast after 700 miles (myself) of driving in a day. Make sure you have changed your fluids and nothing needs to be done during the trip. I would get some chains as they are required at times up in the mountains. Have lots of food and emergency stuff you may need along the way along with lots of cash or plastic and you should be fine.

·
Registered
77 Posts