Honda CR-V Owners Club Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I recently bought a 2017 Honda CR-V with adaptive cruise control.

While I am generally pleased with the car, I started using A.C.C. and I have a problem.

ACC drives well in traffic, including heavy traffic, brakes gently, leaves plenty of following distance and so on. People take advantage of the following distance and cut me off, but I do not care as I am a CDL driver and mostly want to not have accidents. All good, the car slows down, accelerates, stops and resumes. OK.

The problem is that if I go at full speed, and there is a car STOPPED far away, my CR-V will happily speed along and will NOT notice this stopped car and will NOT slow down. A normal good driver would notice, slow down gently, etc, and my car just barrels full speed.

I was, of course, paying full attention during my tests and slammed the brakes, to avoid what looked like an imminent collision, but it was a nerve wracking and disappointing experience.

Has anyone else had this issue?

I do realize that ACC is not a substitute for a fully alert driver and its job is just to ease the work of my feet -- but still it seems wrong and unsafe.

Any comments? Does your ACC slow down for stopped cars ahead?

·
Registered
265 Posts
It will recognize it, but later than you would be comfortable with. The range of the radar is only so far and takes action based on time 2,3,4 or 5 seconds. It will stop but will brake abruptly.

Sent from my SM-N910T using Tapatalk

·
Administrator
3,353 Posts
Great advice!

As you get more proficient with sensing you'll get to a point where you'll want to vary the distance the system looks down the road. It all depends on traffic conditions

·
Registered
101 Posts