Honda CR-V Owners Club Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a novice when it comes to working on cars... let's state that up front. So, I picked up 4 of the Honda recommended spark plugs and planned to change them out tonight. The manual makes it seem relatively easy. My 2002 CR-V has 135k miles on it, and I am pretty sure the plugs are original (I got it at 76k). Well, my ratchet set has a 5/8" spark plug socket, and a 3" extension, so I thought I was set. Well, the 3" is not long enough. My set comes with an adapter for my screw driver, however. So, I put the adapter and plug socket on my screwdriver and tried to back out the first plug. Well, the socket is now lodged onto the plug and I can't barely get it to move. I tried spraying with WD40 and letting it sit a white, but I still can't get it to move off the plug. I am stuck now and can't even drive the car with the old plugs with this on there. I am going to pick up a 6" extension tomorrow in hopes I can use the ratchet arm to give me more leverage and actually get that plug and socket out of there. But does anyone have any other ideas for how I could get the socket out, at least???
Thank you!
Jay

·
Registered
720 Posts