Honda CR-V Owners Club Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I recently managed to get a cheapish rear bike rack for our two bikes but it is a bit of a pain to install. So I was wondering if anyone managed to find a decent and fast setup bike rack for the CRV. I appreciate any recommendations on this.

Model: 2012 CRV

·
Registered
918 Posts
You don’t mention hitch mount, door mount or roof mount ??

A hitch mount is probably the easiest to install and use especially one that the bikes sit in , not hang on type.
Prices can vary widely

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Sorry I am new to this...I have a hitch that we paid to fit on the rear of the car so a rear hitch one would be good

·
Registered
50 Posts
Thank-you for the suggestion, I like the look of that one!
Yeah no prob, strange to see that they've gone up in price, when I bought mine last summer it was $68. I guess with the pandemic and everyone buying bike, it makes some sense that bike rack prices might be higher than usual.

·
Registered
918 Posts
Thank-you for the suggestion, I like the look of that one!
That one will have bikes hanging on not in (or sitting in/on) as I mentioned.
I found a three bike rack clearance at wally one time for under $50. Not the highest quality, but works.
Other hitch bike racks suggestions in a bunch of other threads recently were posted on this forum. You should be able to get a decent 2+ bike rack bike ride in not hanging on rack for about $100 and up. Bike hanging on like one linked above IMO is less stable and may provide additional challenges to use depending on your bikes. EX: no cross bar or a sweeping step through frame. You would have to figure something out to hang on that rack. I also think the rated capacity is probably higher for the style I am mentioning so a heavier electric hybrid bike could be carried easier and safer.

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #9