Honda CR-V Owners Club Forums banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm pretty new to this, and just purchased a 2006 CRV SE two weeks ago and I'm already looking into how to modify it. I would like to put some more meaty tires on it, but I don't want to lift it, just yet. Any suggestions?

·
Registered
2,002 Posts
On my 2000 CRV, I went from 205 70 15 to 215 75 15, with the stock rims and no lift. A much taller tire and a tad wider. Any wider might have rubbed, but the 75 series did not rub.

Also did the same with my current ’09 CRV without issue.

·
Registered
442 Posts
On your gen2 215/70/16 or 225/65/16 should fit without any issues on stock rims (assuming you have 16 inch). general grabbers AT2 are very good all terrain tires and there are a no of gen 1 / gen 2 CRVs with them. I have firestone destination AT on my crv and it has been good so far.
You may be able to go higher size but remember the tires get heavier and with the 4cyl in the crv there is lack of HP/torque and you might see hit in fuel economy and poor acceleration.
Do a quick search here and you should see posts with larger tires on Gen2

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Alright thanks vhercules. Is there any way to get a little more torque and hp on that or is that what I'm stuck with

·
Registered
442 Posts
I don't think there is any simple or effective aftermarket solution to get more torque / hp on these engines. nobody really mods them from a performance aspect :), suspension lifts, larger tires and cosmetic changes are the more common mods on these vehicles.

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
Dang alright. With a small suspension lift and tires I should be able to get by in light off road situations?

·
Everything in Moderation
7,598 Posts
With snows or all terrain tires a 4WD CR-V would be fine in any light off-road conditions.

You don't really need bigger rubber unless you WANT it (for looks).