Honda CR-V Owners Club Forums banner

1 - 20 of 49 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
gask.jpg

Had a blowout between 1&2... Any recommendations for a good brand of gasket? I also figured I'd change the bolts. Maybe studs? I also had a couple of the small bolts that retain the cam caps break off while loosening :p

Any advise would be most welcome! I'm a pretty experienced mechanic but new to Honda :)

It's a 2000 2L auto with AWD 175,000 miles

Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Pretty dead here...

I figured I'd just get a reman head instead of fooling with the old one. Especially since it has some bolts broken off. I also noticed that one of the cam sprockets has a chip out of it near the keyway location so I guess I'll change it as well.

So far I have a head on the way as well as a new timing belt, water pump and idler plus a new cam sprocket. Figured I'd change them while I'm in there. Love the little car so I figure it's worth putting the time and $$ into.

I haven't picked up a gasket yet but read that the OEM's from Honda are the best so I'm gonna go that route. I'm also gonna order some new head bolts and pick up an OEM t'stat from the dealer. Friggin' OEM gasket is about $100 but I don't want to have to go in there again... Probably sling some new seals on the injectors too.

While troubleshooting the misfire I cleaned the IACV and screwed the deal in the fast idle valve back down as well as ordering a new front pipe, catalytic converter and o2 sensors because the exhaust was all hacked up.

·
Registered
3,347 Posts
Fel-Pro makes good gasket. If you are going aftermarket go for Fel-pro. I would suggest to also replace the valve seals with Fel-pro or OEM. Have you tried to use OEM suppliers they are lower priced than that of the walk in dealership parts department. hondapartsnow.com

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter #5 (Edited)
Any obvious reason that the head gasket blew?