Honda CR-V Owners Club Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I'm a newbie here. I have a 1999 CR-V with 138K miles on it. The CR-V was making a light squeaking noise when letting up off of the brake, and after research I found out that it was the brake shoes squeaking against the backing plate when I released the brake. So I had a friend of mine that is familiar with cars lubricate the contact point with white lithium grease. The squeak went away, but now there is a loud, almost singular groan/grind that occurs when I brake hard.

It makes this noise in reverse, when not moving at all, and also when coming to a complete stop. At first I thought that the shoes may have been dirtied by grease or dust that was in the brake drum. I've had it inspected by both a Goodyear and a Honda dealership. The Goodyear claimed that I needed new bushings (wouldn't specify which ones though), and the Dealership proceeded to inform me that I needed all new struts, complete with a hefty price (way over done).

So my question is, does anyone have an idea of what this could be? Both places said my brakes looked fine, but if it were my struts, would they be making the noise when the car is not in motion? Would the same go for bushings? I'm having trouble with who to believe, or if I should believe any of them. I'm sure my struts do need replacing, and probably also my bushings, but I don't know if changing these would solve this awful short groan I keep hearing. Thanks!

·
Registered
2,554 Posts
"...makes this noise in reverse, when not moving at all,..."
What is moving when you're not moving at all? The transmission is still turning if it's an automatic.
More info on the car is needed I think.
Are you the original owner?
What is the service history of the car?

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3