Honda CR-V Owners Club Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
776 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have zero experience with using one, but I think I'll try it just because. My question is why doesn't the clay pick up particles and other solids and hold them such that they'd scratch the paint ?? I understand that the car needs to be washed thoroughly first, but stuff happens. Any tips will be greatly appreciated. TIA, Craig

·
Registered
84 Posts
I'm sure posters more certain or experienced than I will reply too, but the basic answer is that the abrasive bits are suspended in the liquid film between the actual clay and the paint not unlike bad stuff is suspended in motor oil. That's why the instructions will emphasize the use of plenty of "lubricant", (either their own or a mild dilustion of water and dishwashing detergent) and to be certain the clay is as clean as practical especially if the clay is dropped onto the ground...

I did it years ago on my old Mustang with great resutls but have not tried it on a newer clear coated car.

Kevin

·
Registered
2,551 Posts
The dirt/grit is actually held in the clay, not the lube. That's why the clay gets dirty. If you drop the clay on the ground, throw it away unless you're on previously washed off concrete that has NO dirt on it. A new clay bar is cheaper than a new paint job.
Follow the instructions on any clay bar kit packaging for best results.
I like to wash the car thoroughly like I usually do, then clay, then wash it again and dry it off before starting to polish. Swirls are from dirt left in the paint.

·
Registered
252 Posts