Honda CR-V Owners Club Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
112 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, my wife just got a 2019 CR-V so I decided to join these forums.
For more than thirty years I have been a collision repair technician. I have ASE certification in four levels of collision repair and platinum status for structural and non-structural with I-CAR.
I would be more than glad to help out in this section of the forums. Do note, I am a technician and not an estimator. I can't price anything, but I can either tell you how to perform the repair or how the repair should be done. Feel free to tag me when you have questions.

·
Registered
1,361 Posts
I can't price anything, but I can either tell you how to perform the repair or how the repair should be done. Feel free to tag me when you have questions.
@K-Dog7469 With our insurance costs outrageous here in Michigan, a lot of us don't bother getting our cars repaired. I just "paid off" an Acura that drowned five years ago--our insurance rates remained inflated for five years after that happened, and that was with a different insurance company. (Our crooked insurance carriers are able to do this under the current insurance law; a "reform bill" was passed, but most of us know that nothing will change.)

Anyway, I need to get our blue '09 fixed in the rear, but might have to do it out-of-pocket, or face an extra $75/month (or more) for another five years. If it were just cosmetic, I would be replacing the bumper cover and two plastic body-colored side pieces (one is scratched) and the lower tailgate garnish. The only bad thing is, the tailgate is slightly out of alignment, since it "grabs" a little when unlatching. The worst part, though, is the car that backed into the CR-V hit the tie-down hook that is welded to the spare tire tub hard enough to wrinkle it, pushing the spare tire up a few inches.