Honda CR-V Owners Club Forums banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to the forum, I did a search on the crv winter driving characteristics because I own one and my wife and I are experiencing unstable driving in the CRV. We own a 2018 LX AWD, we owned a 2016 Ford Escape and our when our lease expired we upgraded to the 2018 CRV because of it's larger interior and fuel economy. We like the extra room and the fuel economy has been as advertised.

So, now that I have that out of the way, I live in Atlantic Canada and I have been driving for 30 years as has my wife, we are very experienced winter drivers, always use snow tires(Bridgestone ice radials were included in our purchase at the recommendation of our Honda dealer) and are certainly on the conservative scale when it comes to how we approach winter driving.

We are having a difficult time with our CRV and it's lack of traction in snow and on moderately icy roads, the vehicles AWD system is unlike anything I have ever experienced, it seems to be working against itself for lack of a better expression lol. We have both experienced situations where the vehicle wants to shoot to the left or right on snow and is treacherous in any type of turning situation on snow or ice, we find ourselves having to be over cautious as a means of trying to commute in the safest manner possible in this vehicle. We are in a 3 year lease and are stuck with it, The Ford Escape was a tank on snow and ice and moving to the CRV has been an adjustment, to say the least. I am not a troll or a bot and I can provide my serial number if anyone believes that I just trolling. I am simply looking for answers and yes we are cold in this vehicle as well, thankful for the heated seats at least.

·
Registered
511 Posts
Have you messed with tire pressure, make sure sensing is not engaged etc?

i’m in northeast us and its been pretty good in snow and ice, majority of the crv complaints are the oem tires.