Honda CR-V Owners Club Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

I'm new to leasing and have a question that I hope I can get some independent answers for.

I have a 2018 CRV Touring leased for 4 yrs - picked up in April 2018. I've done just over 40km on it already which is ahead of my 24km/yr allowance.

Dealer contacted me this week and is offerring me a 2019 model on a new 4yr lease, at the same current monthly payment, with my current mileage zeroed out.

Dealer claims that he has customers looking for used CRV to buy.

It appears to me that

1. Dealer rolls me over and keeps me tied into a lease
2. I get some new tyres
3. My mileage overage is wiped out
4. My service costs are also reset to lower level services.

So what am I missing here?

Should I be asking the dealer for a better deal on my monthly costs?
Should I ask for him to throw in service?

Am I losing equity that went into the 2018?

Thanks for any advice.

·
Registered
2017 CRV Touring - Pearl White w Black Interior
4,927 Posts
It's a lease.. so you don't have any real equity per se.

If what you say is true on the part of the dealer.. then you are getting a deal here because at the rate you are burning miles on that CRV... you will have a large mileage penalty when your lease is up.

That said.... keep in mind... when you go to the dealer and they inspect the vehicle before completing the transaction .. you may get surprised as they might revise the offer based on the inspection (including the high miles).

Why would a dealer do this? They get two sales out of the deal.... a new lease to you which restarts the clock, and they can sell the used CRV (which has great resale value, particularly one that new).

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks,