Honda CR-V Owners Club Forums banner

1 - 20 of 50 Posts

·
Registered
2000 LX 5spd awd
428 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I'm off to a start on this crazy project. I'm going to rebuild a jdm b20b so I can drive my car while I rebuild the original b20z. I only have 1 car so I can't have any down time. I got an evergreen master rebuild kit from Amazon. So far I'm impressed. Bearing are 1 size and I plastigauged them to check. They were all right on the money. Dead middle of the specs. Thats the main bearings so hopefully the rod bearing are good also. The kit comes with a head gasket but idk if I want to use it. I'm thinking ill go factory because if my b20z is to far gone this engine is staying in. When I cleaned the pistons i even dug out the oil holes in the oil ring groove (see pics) ill update as I go and let everyone know how this rebuild kit stacks up. Let me know if you have any experience with this kit and your thoughts on it.

Opinions on paint colors? I'm thinking something netural for possible reselling value when I'm done. Send pics if you have any of the engine painted. Thanks

Sent from my SM-N976U using Tapatalk

·
Registered
1998 CR-V EX 4spd auto "Big Green" completely stock with roof rack and front mud flaps
888 Posts
It's really cool to be able to watch you go. I love to see stuff pulled apart, but I'm not about to take my engine apart just to look at it. I'm also excited to see everything involved with building an engine up yourself!

For paint color, go with silver maybe? I didn't think aluminum engines typically got painted from the factory. In alternative, my previous Toyota had a CI block that was painted black.

When you do your original engine, it'd be pretty sick to paint it to match your body. Green block and head with gray head cover! Maybe do chrome or gold lettering too if there's a way to do it that'll take the heat.

·
Registered
1998 CR-V EX 4spd auto "Big Green" completely stock with roof rack and front mud flaps
888 Posts