Honda CR-V Owners Club Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Everyone! New member here. First time owner of a 2003 CRV EX AT. I am pretty new to cars in general so please excuse me if I sound like a newbie. I bought the CRV about a month ago with just under 53k miles on it. I wanted to know when I should change the brake fluid, steering fluid, oil change and any other fluids that I may need to change. How do I know when to change what? Do I look at the color of the fluid? How should the fluid look to indicate that I need to have it changed. So far, I have only refilled the radiator fluid/coolant and the windshield cleaning fluid. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks! :)

-Danny

·
Registered
2 Posts
Hey danny. Congrats on your purchase. So when i got my used crv i just went ahead and replaced my serpentine belt and tensioner, coolant flush and i replaced the brake fluid and power steering fluid. For most fluids if they are dark brown or black it is time to replace them. I replaced the brake fluid and power steering fluid myself. Look up some videos on youtube on how to do it. saved me a lot of money doing myself. I used valvolinte dot 3 for brake fluid and went with honda dealer powersteering. Used a turkey baister to suck old fluid out and refilled a few times. For coolant flush i got it done at dealer since honda has special coolant.

·
Registered
2,001 Posts
If it's a AWD model, you will hear a squeal in the rear diff when doing sharp turns. This is when it is time to replace the rear diff fluid. You must only use Honda rear diff. fluid.

I highly recommend Synthetic Oil for oil changes, but that's a personal choice.

·
Registered
3,728 Posts
If the at fluid is dark, smells burnt, or is not pinkish in color, it is most likely time to do at least a single drain and fill with Honda DW-1 or another compatible synthetic atf such as Valvoline MaxLife Dex/Merc, etc.