Honda CR-V Owners Club Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 49 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I don't restart my phone unless it is needed. Why should I? If the unit can't handle the connection properly I shouldn't restart my phone - the manufacturer should fix his bugs.
But the unit - shouldn't be shut down every time the car is off?

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
you sound very receptive to help & suggestions:rolleyes:
I'm a SW engineer. Reboot sounds to me like a lazy solution to a bug that needs to be fixed.

But, do you think rebooting the phone weekly would help?
I was on a very long drive. The iPhone [8] was providing the map and podcasts. The unit would complain periodically that the connection was off. And it froze a couple of times. I did reboot the unit (hold the power button for a while). However, once it froze so much that even that didn't work. I couldn't really reboot my phone while driving.

·
Registered
2017 CRV EX AWD
1,475 Posts
One its always good to do a hard reboot on a phone every once in a while. As for the headunit there are a few tsbs but like when you change your battery a hard reset clears the errors sometimes.

ive seen others have issues when not cleaning properly that smudges will trigger it going in ans out.

ours has been pretty solid over 2 yrs.
one day i had the random ghost button selections but cleaned it and never happened again.

·
Registered
101 Posts
Like BoostedV said, it's good to restart/reboot your phone every now and then. It resets the RAM, just like on a computer. I'm sure you've noticed that, if you leave your computer on for a long time, it gets slower. Once you've rebooted it, it tends to speed up as you get all the crap in the RAM out of there. Your phone and the head unit are both computers, plain and simple.

·
Registered
243 Posts