Honda CR-V Owners Club Forums banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a long time Honda driver but was pretty taken aback yesterday when I was driving down a four lane road with no vehicles in sight going about 40 mph. Suddenly, the Honda sensing beeping started, the brake warning flashed and seconds later the car locked up the brakes, came to a screeching halt and shut down all power. The scary thing was that there wasn't a car around. In fact, nothing even close that would have tricked the system.

I took it to my dealer, they had it for two days and ultimately said that the computer saw nothing wrong, and that they drove it for 10 miles trying to replicate and nothing happened. They said it drove as designed. I don't know what to say except that my wife is going to be driving this car and I'm a little freaked out.

I feel like one of those early Audi sudden acceleration drivers who were told that they were crazy, although my dealer didn't act like that and was nothing but supportive.

Has anyone else experienced anything like this? Thank you.

·
Registered
335 Posts
There's another thread on here from a couple weeks ago basically outlining a similar problem. There might be a glitch in the system, one that could get somebody hurt or killed.

Hopefully Honda will take it seriously.

·
Registered
335 Posts
There's another thread on here from a couple weeks ago basically outlining a similar problem. There might be a glitch in the system, one that could get somebody hurt or killed.

Hopefully Honda will take it seriously.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks, wlong01. Hopefully others will post as well. Can you repost the earlier one you came across?

·
Registered
101 Posts
Mine is the opposite - it only works if I have ACC engaged. Otherwise, it will only light the "BRAKE" light, but never apply the brakes. I've almost had three really bad accidents so far - I have to stay alert.

·
Registered
1,134 Posts