Honda CR-V Owners Club Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of December's Ride of the Month Challenge!
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello All,
My question is if I have the PCV hose properly identified? If so then Honda has made a GREAT vapor trap for the PCV or my PCV is bad, because there is ZERO evidence of oil in this hose.
I’m an engineer by training and temperament, I gotta know how stuff works and I’m am super piss-off that Honda has decided to make the service manual a subscription. I’ve owned 22 cars/trucks, 10 motorcycles and 12 boats over my life and OWEND a service manual of everyone. Well enough rant :) Thanks for any assistance.
Vehicle Engine Auto part Car Fuel line

·
Registered
2,570 Posts
Not sure about the ID of said parts, but if your engine is running correctly, why would you expect to find oil in that line?

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Because PCV stands for Positive Crankcase Ventilation. PCV system is needed since EVERY IC engine has some amount of blow by past the piston rings, i.e. a small amount of combustion gases get into the crankcase. Next the crank shaft and a multitude of other moving parts are throwing around oil, so as you may expect there is going to be an oil mist in the crankcase. So when said PCV does it's job of releasing the crankcase pressure it can be expected the air moving from the PCV to the intake tract will have a bit of oil in it.

·
Registered
2,570 Posts
I would expect a good running engine not to have enough oil vapor in the system to leave a deposit in the line, but I could be wrong on that point. I have read that if the PVC valve isn't working correctly you can start to get oil leaks from the over pressurized crankcase. Is your engine leaking oil?

·
Registered
644 Posts
Hello All,