Honda CR-V Owners Club Forums banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Has anyone replaced their factory door speakers on a 2012 CR-V EX? I've searched online trying to find instructions on removing the door panel but have not had any luck. This is my first time replacing speakers and I don't want to mess something up. I've checked the following websites: http://www.collegehillshonda.com/parts/, http://www.hondapartsdeals.com/index...da-accessories, http://www.handa-accessories.com/ and they don't have any instructions for a 2012 CR-V that involves removing the door panels.

·
Registered
331 Posts
I have not seen anything in regards to Panel removal either for the 12. Most people here have taken the car to a shop and paid for install. The shops in my area are not fit to change a light bulb so there is no way I'm taking it any of them. I've been looking for instructions or a pictorial on the web since Jan. and can't find any so, I guess it's a "wait and see" thing.

·
Registered
342 Posts
Did mine on an '08 "V". Don't think that things have changed that much. Don't have photos, but this is what I remember. Would strongly suggest getting a set of plastic trim removal tools which will make your life easier, but won't damage your surfaces. Just a word of caution whichever speakers you choose. Roll all the windows down as far as they go so you know if the windows will interfere with the speaker magnets. Fronts should have windows come about 1/3 the way of the speaker opening. Rears won't present any problems at all. In addition, get the speaker wiring harnesses for Hondas so you don't have to splice into standard speaker harness.

Look in cup where door latch is. Should see a pop-off tab. Underneath is a Philips-head screw.
Look in cup built into the arm rest that you grab to pull door shut. Should see 2 pop-off tabs. Underneath each is a Philips-head screw.