Honda CR-V Owners Club Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
I know this is an old thread, but, I just put a K&N in my 2010 EXL a couple of months ago. A little more and gas mileage went up 3 MPG. Helps a lot with freeway driving.

·
Registered
77 Posts
I've never used one before. But I've read you can take it out and wash it instead of having to replace it. Anybody put one in a 2012 yet? I drive down a gravel road every week day in the morning so I know my filter is getting pretty dirty.

·
Registered
331 Posts
The K & N filters are Great! You can (and should) take them out every 30K miles or so and wash/ re-oil them. They make claims of gains of 10 15 HP but I call false on those as it probably more like 3-5 HP and slight gains in MPG of around 2-3. Funny thing is; the re-usable air filters are not new Technology at all. Back in the 40's cars had re-usable air filters normally. If it's a true increase you are looking to gain; a cold air intake is what is needed but....... It's not that simple. Cold air intake kits mean the Engine breathes better but then what needs to be done is an exhaust upgrade. You can't just pack in more air without making it easier to exit as well. Then, things get interesting with current cars using ECU's. The car's brain will actually fight the air intake and upgraded exhaust (in most cases) and you will see a DECREASE in HP and MPG. To combat this; a DYNO is needed along with a newly programmed chip based on the changes made.

·
Registered
845 Posts
I don't buy all the mileage gains.
If a simple drop in K&N filter can increase mileage,every auto manufacturer would have on installed in every vehicle.
Auto manufacturers have a hard time meeting their yearly CAFE numbers.Why isn't K&N type air filter in every vehicle?

Bought into the hype years ago with a Expedition I owned and all I got was more engine noise.

·
Registered
364 Posts