Honda CR-V Owners Club Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am getting quite low MPG with my 2003 CRV AWD... around 15 to 16MPG for city driving. I am not an aggressive driver (braking and braking suddenly).

I was suggested that adding some fuel injection cleaner may help clean up the build up. Anyone has any recommendations as to what brand works well, how much of the cleaner to put and how much gas should be in the tank for this to be optimally effective. And is it even worth my time and money to do this.

I am very new to cars in general, so please use layman terms.

Thanks,
-Danny

·
Registered
2,551 Posts
Danny - What kind of gas are you using?
I've always used Chevron with Techroline(sp?), correction, Techron,[thanks Buff] in our Honda's and never had to use any additive to clean the injectors.
I have used STP Fuel Injector cleaner in other cars with some success. There's a product out called Sea Foam that is said to work well too.
Whatever you choose to use, just follow the directions on the can and I'm sure you'll be fine.
Sometimes it pays to just give the car an 'Italian tune-up' as that will clean it out good too.

·
Everything in Moderation
7,718 Posts
20CRVEX13 meant to say Chevron Techron. This is the BEST fuel cleaner, it is patented and licensed by other oil companies.

Always use it as directed...

An occasional run to the engine's red-line helps too. (That makes the injectors stay open longer and helps keep them clean.)

+++++++++++

But, you are not mentioning mileage on the car. At 100K miles, it's time to consider replacing the oxygen (O2) sensor. Always use the proper Denso "wide-band" replacement part.

If that fails to help, then it may be necessary to replace the catalytic converter. But this is an expensive fix. If the V runs well otherwise it's best to buck up and accept the lower gas mileage.