Honda CR-V Owners Club Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, i have been driving my new CRV 2019 for a few months now and last week for the first time I saw a "Low Tire Pressure" warning but it didn't tell me which tire. I had to manually check all 4 tires and fill it up to recommending level. My old 8 years old Chevy car used to tell me tire pressure of each tire and it was very useful and now i am surprised that Honda vehicle doesn't give this info. or is there a different way to access this info and maybe i am not checking it correctly?

·
Registered
449 Posts
Unfortunately it can't tell you which tire, nor the tire pressure reading in psi. The Tire Pressure Monitoring System (TPMS) uses an indirect method to indicate a low tire by comparing the rotational speed between the 4 tires. A tire with low pressure will have a smaller radius from center to ground and therefore rotates faster than the other 3, which brings up the alarm. A crude system but no pressure transmitters required.

·
Registered
518 Posts
Honda changed to the above system from all the people who would complain and come jn when temps dropped on the old system and would get errors everyday.

·
Registered
449 Posts
Honda changed to the above system from all the people who would complain and come jn when temps dropped on the old system and would get errors everyday.
At least the old system alerted you when all the tires are underinflated due to winter temp. Tire pressure drops 1 psi for every 10 F temp drop. If your tires were pressurized for 70 F and it's now 20 F the tires are 5 psi low. The TMPS won't warn you about that.

·
Registered
770 Posts
Welcome to the forum.

There is a 3 PSI differential between the front tires and the back tires - please make sure your '19 is adjusted correctly, then go into the 'Settings' section and recalibrate the TPMS.

Happy you are here!

·
Registered
2,138 Posts