Honda CR-V Owners Club Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
114 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been driving a 1997 CRV since 2006, it was a great ride and had 330.006 miles on it when I retired it. So, I got me a 2008 model which I love. This truck is nothing like my 97 model, especially in the way it drives. The one thing that bugs me is a slight hesitation between shifts, most noticeable from 1st to second and second to third. Is this normal? I was told that the shifting is computer controlled in the 3rd Gen and this may be what I am feeling?

Any Help will be appreciated,
Derek

·
Registered
901 Posts
I still own my 98 crv and yea the build quality and materials used are different nowadays. Now cars rust as soon as they leave the showroom. Before it was real metal but nowadays they use cheap metal like aluminum and put a shiny metallic polish on it. So when you buy it the polish shines, but after a few years the cheap metal starts to rust and trouble. To answer your question I think their is a ECO mode to save fuel. You have to turn that off.

·
Registered
2,822 Posts
Welcome to the forum and congrats on your purchase. 330,000 miles is a huge accomplishment. I plan on keeping my V until I hit 200,000 miles, which at this rate I will have it for about 20 years haha. Let's see some pics of the new and old V's.

·
Registered
3,722 Posts
Don't know about the shifting, but be sure to check the atf for color, clarity and smell.(red-pinkish,clear, no burnt smell)
Very easy to change it, if needed. Use either Honda DW-1 or another compatible synthetic atf. Lots of owners have had great results with Valvoline MaxLife Dex/Merc atf (around $18/gal at Walmart).
If the fluid is not looking good, do 4 drain and fills with driving in between.

Not sure if your '97 had a cabin air filter in it, but your 08 does. Worthwhile to check it.
Buffalo4

·
Registered
280 Posts