Honda CR-V Owners Club Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hey guys,
Just felt like sharing my experience. I have got a Chinese Headunit (Atoto A6 Pro) installed on my CR-V LX 2012. I love the setup everything works as expected and the only thing I am missing (which is not a big deal) is:
-Showing the backup camera on the headunit (still works on IMID)
-Bluetooth steering wheel controls (I think I can get it to work but I didnt want to tap to the OEM wiring)

What is great:
-All functionalities of IMID
-Steering wheel controls on the headunit (just the +,-, >>,<<)
-GPS
-illumination/brightness when turning on the headlights
-Headunit Bluetooth (excellent sound quality)
-Radio
-Speakers sound awesome now (they sounded terrible before because of the way the OEM headunit works)
-I can revert back to the OEM headunit in a matter of minutes (no wire cuts at all)

What you need to buy:
-Any good branded chinese head unit (I recommend Atoto or Joying)
-18gauge butt connectors and crimping tool (OR Solder iron and solder wire)
-18gauge heat shrink tubes
-PAC audio rp4-hd11 (for SWC to work and retain IMID functionalities)
-Metra 40-HD11 OR Scosche HAA2B Antenna Adapter (for Radio functionality)
-Scosche HA1714B Dash Kit (for your Dash trim)
-long Philips screw driver

How to connect for NONE AMPLIFIER CRV VERSION:
there are multiple threads about it so I will explain the obvious stuff briefly:
1)get your headunit main harness and connect it to PAC as below (solder or use butt connectors:
a) match Accessory wire
b) match constant/ wire
c) match illumination wire
d) match parking brake wire
e) match 8 speakers wires (for 4 speakers). you will need to cut the RCA plugs on the PAC to expose the two wires for each speaker and connect to ATOTO harness
f) match power Antenna adapter wire with your Metra or Scosche wire
g) TRICKY: for the PAC 3.5 plug for SWC, you will need to cut the plug and expose the two wires (one is red and the other is white), cut down the silver shiled srounding these two wires, it is not needed. connect the red to ATOTO 'WHEEL KEY' wire and connect the WHITE wire to ATOTO ground which will also be connected to the PAC ground wire. (3 wires in total for the ground).

2)once you are done with wire connections, use heat shrink tubes to cover the wires that are not in use which will be everything that i didnt mention

3) mount the atoto headunit to the dashkit and be careful when screwing, the dashkit has big screws that might break its plastic arms.

4)go to your car, remove the middle air vents, the OEM headunit (lots of youtube videos on how to)

5) unscrew the emergency red flash button and screw it on your dash kit (only use the included screws on the dash kit and dont reuse the OEM screws as they wont fit).

6) set your PAC unit to Pioneer (#7)

7)fish the mic and the ATOTO USB extention to a suitable location

8) connect the OEM antenna wire to your antenna adaptor, there will be another 3 OEM adaptors, connect 2 of them to your PAC adaptors (you cant miss this up, you will only be able to plug the correct ones as each is different in size). there will be white OEM adaptor left. leave it as is, there is no need for it.

9)connect the included ATOTO mic, wifi antenna, , USB plug, GPS to ATOTO head unit (I placed GPS and Wifi antennas inside the dash behind the ATOTO headunit. no issues and GPS signal is excellent).

10)turn on the car and check if everything is working. if so then turn it off and mount the ATOTO headunit properly to the car using the OEM screws then the air vents.



notes:
a) i tried connecting atoto's rear camera wire to PAC reverse output wire and it worked, so when i change gear to R in my car, the screen switches to rear camera output but I didnt connect the rear camera so it will be useless for me so i decided to disconnect the wires. however if you plan to buy after market camera, you can use this instead of tapping into the backlight of the car.

b) make sure you are familiar of getting the butt connectors snug with the wires. it was my first time to do this and i suffered until i learned a trick to fold the stripped part of the wire to make it thick then stick it into the butt connector and crimp it.

c)highly recommended to use a heatgun to heat shrink the butt connectors once done.

d)in Atoto, go to steering wheel controls setting then press 'reset' then press volume up in the headunit (the soft button on the screen will blink) then press volume+ in the steering wheel control then the soft button on the screen will stop blinking. do the same for other buttons then click save.

e) you will have to spend time customizing ATOTO to your liking (downloading apps, skins, pair, customize the device...etc)
 

Attachments

·
Registered
Joined
·
143 Posts
Great post. Thank you for the tips. Your install looks really clean, very close to OEM. Love it.

Btw, admins may want to move this thread to the mobile electronics forum.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
8 Posts
Nice post. I want to do something similar to my Honda CRV 2016 (4 spk). I just need an android auto functionality without radio tuner and am thinking of buying the following:
1. ATOTO SA 102 (Basic android auto version)
2. PAC audio rp4-hd11 (Harness and SWC)
3. Scosche HA1714B (Dash Kit)
4. Maestro Acc-USB-TO2 (To use factory USB port)

Hope these would work together... Haven't ordered it yet. Still researching when I stumbled upon this post.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
i think you should be good to go, the unit you chose is compatible. I dont have experience with Maestro Acc USB TO2, but keep in mind that if it is the same port used by IMID then you wont be able to upload new background pictures.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
143 Posts
Nice post. I want to do something similar to my Honda CRV 2016 (4 spk). I just need an android auto functionality without radio tuner and am thinking of buying the following:
1. ATOTO SA 102 (Basic android auto version)
2. PAC audio rp4-hd11 (Harness and SWC)
3. Scosche HA1714B (Dash Kit)
4. Maestro Acc-USB-TO2 (To use factory USB port)

Hope these would work together... Haven't ordered it yet. Still researching when I stumbled upon this post.
I pulled the trigger on an android unit for my 2013. It's six speaker system with a 'subwoofer' under the passenger seat. It is supposed to arrive this week and I plan to install it this weekend. I'll post my results.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
I pulled the trigger on an android unit for my 2013. It's six speaker system with a 'subwoofer' under the passenger seat. It is supposed to arrive this week and I plan to install it this weekend. I'll post my results.
make sure that the setup works with a CRV with sub. mine was without, I am not sure if there should be any difference in my stated setup
 

·
Registered
2014 CRV EX-L
Joined
·
137 Posts
make sure that the setup works with a CRV with sub. mine was without, I am not sure if there should be any difference in my stated setup
Out of curiosity, it seems the head unit u installed is recessed within the face plate quite a bit? Is that how you wanted it to look or was it a necessity to have that way?

I've looked at numerous head units and would luv to have one, but wow they can be very expensive. They look better than the oem for sure though.

Cheers
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
Out of curiosity, it seems the head unit u installed is recessed within the face plate quite a bit? Is that how you wanted it to look or was it a necessity to have that way?

I've looked at numerous head units and would luv to have one, but wow they can be very expensive. They look better than the oem for sure though.

Cheers
yes, it is the way the faceplate was designed. However, it looks much better in real life than photos. the screen is not recessed much but the photo makes it look that way, i will try to take another shot and post it
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
143 Posts
I pulled the trigger on an android unit for my 2013. It's six speaker system with a 'subwoofer' under the passenger seat. It is supposed to arrive this week and I plan to install it this weekend. I'll post my results.
I installed it this weekend and im happy with it. Much more features than stock. There was an issue with the harness they gave me but i figured it out. My car has an amplifed system and sub so i had to rewire to turn on the stock amp.
I added a dash cam too. I still need to connect this to the backup camera. Not sure yet if i will use the stock one or add a new aftermarket one. Tbd.
Sound is good. Amazon prime video installed for movies. Usb connected for music and more movies. Waze for traffic. Phone pairing is great and call sound is too. Imid still works fine and time is sent from the new headunit.
Overall im happy with hiw it looks and functions as compared to stock.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·
I installed it this weekend and im happy with it. Much more features than stock. There was an issue with the harness they gave me but i figured it out. My car has an amplifed system and sub so i had to rewire to turn on the stock amp.
I added a dash cam too. I still need to connect this to the backup camera. Not sure yet if i will use the stock one or add a new aftermarket one. Tbd.
Sound is good. Amazon prime video installed for movies. Usb connected for music and more movies. Waze for traffic. Phone pairing is great and call sound is too. Imid still works fine and time is sent from the new headunit.
Overall im happy with hiw it looks and functions as compared to stock.
woow, looks sleek. good job. just headsup, if you are trying to hook up the OEM backup camera to your unit then you will suffer. it is pretty hard to do so. I would go with aftermarket. in my situation, i am just using the OEM on the IMID screen.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
143 Posts
woow, looks sleek. good job. just headsup, if you are trying to hook up the OEM backup camera to your unit then you will suffer. it is pretty hard to do so. I would go with aftermarket. in my situation, i am just using the OEM on the IMID screen.
I bought a 32 pin imid camera adpater on ebay. Haven't tried that yet but will update once i do.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1 Posts
That adapter looks like its for adding an aftermarket camera to the iMID display. I'm looking for a tap to have it display on the iMID and my new Pioneer head unit. I suspect the one we both want would have a male RCA on it.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
143 Posts
That adapter looks like its for adding an aftermarket camera to the iMID display. I'm looking for a tap to have it display on the iMID and my new Pioneer head unit. I suspect the one we both want would have a male RCA on it.
Yes its not a tap like i thought it was. It is to enitlrely repurpose the imid to use as a display. It removes all imid functionality.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1 Posts
I'm having a similar issue with a 2010 crv non nav premium audio, can't figure out how to make the factory subwoofer output audio. It appears it needs the harness input pictured and I can't find an adapter or the factory wiring specs... Any help or advice would be appreciated. Thanks.
137484
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
12 Posts
I don't know, guys.... When you are driving, you cannot really browse apps and use touchscreen. I installed couple of them that you see on the pictures here, but both my wife and I found the original knob and buttons way more comfortable to use. If you want a tablet, you just connect your tablet or your phone, imho.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
143 Posts
I don't know, guys.... When you are driving, you cannot really browse apps and use touchscreen. I installed couple of them that you see on the pictures here, but both my wife and I found the original knob and buttons way more comfortable to use. If you want a tablet, you just connect your tablet or your phone, imho.
I can run any app and watch movies or live tv while driving, if i wanted to. Most of the time, mine is running waze with music or radio in the background.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
10 Posts
JasenP and FinishLine, have you gentlemen figured out how to tap into the IMID video signal such that both IMID and the Android unit can display them? Thanks!
 
1 - 20 of 24 Posts
Top