Honda CR-V Owners Club Forums banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
May not be a CR-V owner very long though I'd like to be.
Here's the story,
Apologies if its jumbled because its been a rough couple weeks.
I really like Honda and always have.
Ive owned a 99 Civic Ex and an 06 Accord EX-L.
I had the Accord 4 years and put a lot of miles on it, I recently decided its time for a CR-V so I traded the Accord in for a 2010 CR-V EX-L with 130,xxx miles.
All was fine and dandy the first day then a nightmare started. The dealership started giving me the run around saying they'd look into the issue for a 3 days when I called and emailed and said I have a constant creaking noise like bending metal and my mpg is averaging 12.5.
Im not a mechanic, most I can do myself is oil change, spark plugs and brake pads.
Having a little knowledge I assumed its bushings or suspension and as for the mpg maybe the computer wasnt reading right, it was only a few days so maybe it had to adjust to my driving instead of a car lot.
Another day goes by, I told the salesman Im coming in after work. He doesnt reply so I just show up and he says " oh I was just about to message you". Sure... right.. I asked to speak to the manager about this issue and all he does is take notes.
No resolution or service set up. We scheduled a meeting the next day with the used car sales manager who wasnt in.
As soon as I leave the check engine light comes on so I beeline straight back to the dealership and demand it gets checked.
After 3 hours of waiting because the service advisor left for the day without telling me it was done an hour beforehand.
Paperwork said code P0420, Primary catalytic converter not working properly, recommend new one.
I asked about it getting fixed and said this is insane. They said oh you can drive with a bad cat and the emissions arent illegal. Basically saying they wouldnt fix it or get me in a new vehicle.