Honda CR-V Owners Club Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I used to own a 92 civic hb with a Frankenstein motor and built up a 2000 civic sedan with a lsvtec I personally built. My knowledge doesnt extend into the k series motors as I went in Camaro shortly after.

But circumstances dictate that I would like to get into a crv now. I have narrowed my selection to a 1998 crv manual with 250k miles. I'm a diesel tech with my own tools and shop so the high mileage of the motor/trans doesnt scare me. That and I planned on either lsvtec again or just boost by next year.

But recently a 2005 crv auto popped up for 2500 and looks in great shape w ou th 230k miles on it. From what I gather its tougher to mod but already comes with decent power.

I LOVE stick but the wife cant drive stick. So I'm stuck. Would the 05 with auto be a better option or stick with the 98 manual? I plan to make this my daily driver/camping trailing rig with twice a year 400 mile journey. Note I didnt say 4x4 as I have a 2000 durango built for wheeling and trailer pulling but I want to do light exploring/hard to reach fishing areas while camping. Everything i have read I'm confident i want a crv for these needs but just curious of preference most of you experienced with the k motors.

Thanks

·
Registered
132 Posts
I'd get the 05. Our 2012 has the electric AWD (new for 2012) which engages as soon as you hit the gas and disengages when you are cruising. The hydraulic system engages when it starts to slip. I've taken our CUV (camping utility vehicle lol) to our camping site by the pond and down our muddy road no problem. The older CR-Vs are also perfect camping utility vehicles ;) With regard to the motor, the K24 we have is a good series. There have been some TSBs here and there (noisy VTC gear), but all in all, a reliable engine.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #3