Honda CR-V Owners Club Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi from a wet & windy England.

I am new to CRV's having only picked up my 2002 a month ago. It has the 2 litre I-VTEC motor with automatic transmission & has covered 95000 miles. I have always noticed the engine is quite clattery from cold, sounds like valve gear or maybe timing chain, it is much worse under load but this goes away after a few miles. It didn't concern me too much as I notice a work colleagues CRV sounds the same from cold + looking at some Youtube videos it seems to be a fairly common issue. Apart from this I am very pleased with the vehicle & it uses half the fuel of my previous vehicle - a 1999 Chevy Blazer.

Mine has got a full Honda dealer service history &, according to the service book it had an oil change nearly 12000 miles ago so I decided to do another oil & filter change yesterday as it is due.
It went without incident, I used a Fram filter & Comma fully synthetic oil of the type Honda recommend. However I noticed the old oil was extremely black - much blacker than I expected. However the big surprise came this morning when I started the motor from cold to come to work, the engine is SO MUCH quieter from cold, the clatter is still there but to a much lesser extent & once warm is smooth as silk.

This has got me thinking about a couple things. Either the oil was changed much longer ago than what the service sheet suggests - or 12000 miles is too long an interval between oil changes. I am seriously considering doing it at 6000 mile intervals instead.

Any advice would be appreciated please as I am very new to these vehicles.

·
Registered
487 Posts
Consider a valve adjustment as Honda engines are notorious for tight exhaust valves at 75k, intakes almost always need no adjustment

·
Registered
3,923 Posts