Honda CR-V Owners Club Forums banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
129 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As noted in some other threads, I'm new to CR-Vs with the recent purchase of a '98.

The prior owner had the oil pan gasket changed when it started leaking at around 50,000 miles. She had it replaced a second time shortly after that when it started leaking again. Just before I bought it, she had it replaced a THIRD time!

Well, it's still leaking a small amount and I called her. She said she called her Honda dealer and was told there is a big slew of repacement oil pan gaskets that are defective.

Anyone heard of leaky and defective oil pan gaskets or had this problem with a Gen. 1?

·
Registered
2,581 Posts
As noted in some other threads, I'm new to CR-Vs with the recent purchase of a '98.

The prior owner had the oil pan gasket changed when it started leaking at around 50,000 miles. She had it replaced a second time shortly after that when it started leaking again. Just before I bought it, she had it replaced a THIRD time!

Well, it's still leaking a small amount and I called her. She said she called her Honda dealer and was told there is a big slew of repacement oil pan gaskets that are defective.

Anyone heard of leaky and defective oil pan gaskets or had this problem with a Gen. 1?
While there may be a replacement gasket issue, you are talking about a vehicle that is 8 years old.

My 99 was recently giving a small drip. I crawled under and tightened up the many loose bolts. it quit leaking. You may want to try the same.