Honda CR-V Owners Club Forums banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
115 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just drove 325 miles in our 18 1.5L. With 93 octane I achieved 35 to almost 36 mpgs with only 1100 miles on the odo. We had it loaded down in the back as well. I also drove with Econ button turned off.

·
Registered
1,336 Posts
I achieved the same results using 87 octane..... Had a good tailwind to help :=)
93 octane in my area is 45 cents a gallon more :=(

·
Registered
2,187 Posts
Just drove 325 miles in our 18 1.5L. With 93 octane I achieved 35 to almost 36 mpgs with only 1100 miles on the odo. We had it loaded down in the back as well. I also drove with Econ button turned off.
Very nice numbers, especially with all that extra weight.

Rob

·
Registered
115 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Very nice numbers, especially with all that extra weight.

Rob
I’m a conservative driver. The display stayed in the green the entire time. I didn’t over rev to achieve speed.

·
Registered
72 Posts
Curious why you used 93 octane gas. Manual recommends regular.

·
Registered
195 Posts
I am not judging anyone running higher octane fuel. I know you can get alcohol free gas in 93 at some locations.

·
Registered
1,421 Posts
I am not judging anyone running higher octane fuel. I know you can get alcohol free gas in 93 at some locations.
It all depends on where one lives. Here in AZ, I believe it would be a challenge to find any gas with alcohol (ethanol?) in it at any octane level.

I do agree with OP that this vehicle is very impressive. As I posted elsewhere on this forum, I averaged over 34 mpg on regular fuel on a 3 day trip including going from sea level to over 4,000 ft mountain passes with A/C running at 100 degrees. 2018 Touring 2WD. No significant winds that I was aware of in either direction.

EDIT: And I never use ECO mode.

·
Registered
1,421 Posts