Honda CR-V Owners Club Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was wondering what the proper technique for recovering from an understeer condition would be in and AWD CRV. I've been driving a '99 CRV for a few years now, and always stayed on the super cautious side which has kept me safe. (0 tickets, 0 crashes) I've understeered a few times, and slammed on the breaks to recover...it worked alright.

Now that it's officially winter, and I've found myself a bid bored I went out to try to regain my winter driving proficiency, and I've noticed that if I intentionally understeer and slam the gas instead of the brake, the CRV will correct it's direction of travel.

What is your technique to recover for an underster condition?

Thanks.

·
Registered
720 Posts
usually, when it happens - you want to lift off the gas gently to let the front tires gain traction again and then steer to the direction you want to go and keep going. you dont want to lift off the gas suddenly as it may create more problems for you. same thing with slamming on the brakes. you could spin out when slam on the brakes. i believe that slamming on the brakes should be the absolute last option.

depending on the road condition (snow, ice, rain, etc.), it's different for each one.

the best way to avoid understeer or oversteer is to maintain your speed according to weather/road conditions so you dont get into an under/over steer. :D

·
Registered
93 Posts
with the awd you got it, drive through it. I learned this the hard way in my awd aerio. at a very slow speed we just sorta went plop into a ditch at a T. it was pretty icy, so it might have ended up being a cool drift manuever if i gave it gas, but that was the first time that made me wonder and subsequently lead to ummm, experimentation, let's say....

·
Registered
52 Posts