Honda CR-V Owners Club Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my first time to post on this forum so my apologies if this is better suited for somewhere else.

In a few weeks, I plan to install a new head unit into my 2014 crv. This is the first time for me to install a unit in any car and I have a few questions.
The head unit is the Sony XAV AX1000.

1. This head unit comes with Apple Carplay and handsfree capability, so it comes with a microphone. I would prefer to keep the OEM microphone because I like its "hidden" location. I have done some research and found that the wires I need are on the HFL unit connector, but I am not sure which of the pins need to be connected to what type of connector. If it is a better idea to just use the microphone that comes with the head unit, where is the best place to mount it?

2. This head unit has a wire that needs to be connected to a parking brake wire, and, while I recognize that I could buy an override or just tie it to ground, I'd rather do it the "right" way. Where is the wire that I need to tap into and how do I access it?

3. Is there anything else that I should know going into this project?

Thank you for your time and help!

·
Registered
2,914 Posts
Thats one of the reason's I shop on Crutchfield.com. If you buy from them they also include instructions how to install things on your vehicle, and offer to sell you all the parts and wiring harnesses you need.
Looks like they carry the Sony XAV AX1000, so I added it to my shopping cart and they suggested what I needed to install it.

The good thing is that you can click on each of the suggested items, and it will give you details about them, and the "part number" to order each component. Well, except for their custom install instructions.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #3