Honda CR-V Owners Club Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My 21 year old Cherokee is getting really rusted and while she runs like a top, it's a stripped model and starting to need more and more work.

My Dad has been driving a 2004 Honda CRV since new and the only "somewhat major" thing replaced is a master cylinder. I'm thinking about buying a used '09 EX-L, but am wondering if I should worry about the 149k it has on it? Clean car fax, everything works and zero rust. I have never had a vehicle with so many options and after driving it the other day, I could get used to the heated leather seats here in Northern, IL!

I'd have to get used to a somewhat wimpy 4 banger, but really don't need anything more at this point. Just looking for something that will last for 5-6 years of mostly weekend driving. I can get the vehicle for $6800. I'm a pretty decent driveway mechanic after nursing kids cars along including brakes, radiators, cv joints, links, axles, ball joints, water pumps, alternators, etc.. so can save money there. Like many, just want to start with a solid platform.

What say the experts?

Steve

·
Registered
340 Posts
Go for it, it's a solid vehicle. 149k is not really that much mileage if it's been serviced at the proper intervals.
Have a 08 EX-L since new. Currently 131k. Only problem ever had was the A/C compressor clutch couple years ago.
I was thinking about replacing it with a new one but since reading about all the problems with the 17,18's decided to keep this one for a couple more years (at least one more). Only thing drives me crazy is the cheap material on the door armrests and the center armrests.
Found covers for the center armrests on Amazon but the door rests are a different story. May have to find an auto upholsterer.

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #4