Honda CR-V Owners Club Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello All...
About 1.5 years ago, we purchased our 2001 Honda CRV that was supposed to be AWD.
At the time, I didn't take notice that the rear axle and rear drive shaft were missing.
We had problems with the rear end (bearings going bad and axle problems).
The seller stepped up to the plate and paid $2500 to have a well known chain tire place put rear axle and rear drive shaft in.

Move forward to today , while having a new timing belt installed and a 29 point inspection, it was noticed that the center support bearing is completely worn out.
Only little rubber remains and the bearing is no where to be found. Basically the drive shaft is just sitting on thin amounts of rubber.
I studied as much as I could here on other places on the web. I have a new Center Support Bearing due to arrive in a day or two.
I feel pretty comfortable with marking and removing the driveshaft with the 4 bolts on front and rear.
I feel somewhat so so with separating the front / rear shafts in order to put the new part on.

However, i have the following questions:
If I have the drive shaft off the vehicle and run into problems with separating two halves, will the vehicle still be able to run in FWD only?
Do I need to seal the front and rear where the driveshaft came off or is it a CLOSED UNIT ?

I would ultimately like to save the AWD operation as the driveshaft looks in really great shape otherwise. I will test/ grease u joints to make sure that is the case.
But as a daily driver vehicle I will need to have it handy...but dont want DIFF oil leaking or other problems associated with driveshaft removal.
Thanks for any help you can give.

·
Registered
1,646 Posts
Everyone says you can remove the drive shaft and have a FWD vehicle with no problems. The u-joints are not suppose to be serviceable though. Honda would sell you a whole new drive shaft to replace the u-joints and bearing.

·
Registered