Honda CR-V Owners Club Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 114 Posts

·
Registered
UK 2019 Honda CR-V hybrid EX iMMD
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I’m relatively new to the CR-V forum but, in the short time I have been here, I think I’ve noticed a bit of a decline in the quality of conversations. As a long-standing Honda owner, I’m genuinely surprised by that, because in all my other dealings with Honda owners I’ve generally found them to be an enthusiastic, intelligent, thoughtful, mild-mannered and sometimes very knowledgeable bunch.

This CR-V forum seems to be dominated by north Americans (it’s an important market for Honda) and, rather too often, the tone seems to be angry, aggressive or just ill-informed and ignorant. Examples include:
  • People who can't achieve 25mpg in a CR-V hybrid (the model that I happen to have) and immediately blame everything apart from the fact that they live up a mountain at minus 20degC and are evidently disinterested in learning how their car works or how to drive efficiently.
  • Long, opinionated and ill-informed “technical” monologues, incorrectly explaining how the Continuously Variable Transmission works on a CR-V hybrid (the Hybrid does not have a CVT), or how use its “paddle shifters” (the hybrid doesn’t have those either).
  • New owners who bought their car having done little research, and who have seemingly come to the forum solely to demolish every feature of their CR-V, as a way of justifying their mistake and preserving their own self-belief. If you really don’t like CR-Vs, then I’m not sure that screeching angrily at other owners is going to help!
================​