Honda CR-V Owners Club Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

First of all, I'm new to the site, and recently bought a 2012 CRV. I am looking for a roof rack that I can use for carrying kayaks (and possibly other things, like bikes).

The factory roof rack looks a bit expensive, and I don't really like the look of it. I'm looking for something sturdy, versatile, and sporty looking. I've never used a roof rack before, so I don't know what things I need to consider (rail spacing, adjustability, etc.). If anyone can give me any advice on a good roof rack that will work with my CRV, it would be greatly appreciated!

·
Registered
511 Posts
I've used both Thule and Yakima roof racks for decades. They are rugged, easy to install and incredibly versatile.
One of the best aspects of either is you can move them from vehicle to vehicle by replacing the "foot" beds? for the next vehicle, taking the rails, etc. with you.
My current rack is a Thule and I've had it for near 20 years and it works great.
They are also much stronger than the general factory "roof rack" based on recommended load weight, etc.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks for the suggestions! I’ve heard Thule or Yakima are the way to go, so these responses seem to confirm that.

I’m looking at the Thule Complete Crossroads Railing Rack 45058. It says it's a complete rack, although it looks like it requires existing rails to mount to. I’m not opposed to getting the factory Honda side rails, but I’m looking for other options. As Kai Winters said, it would be nice to be able to easily transfer to other vehicles. Also, it will be more expensive to get both this and the Honda rails. I’m not sure how much I should expect to pay for a full rack system (including mounts for kayaks and other things).

·
Registered
511 Posts
http://www.thule.com/en-us/us/buyers-guide?c=roof+racks&q=bhvNPTXms