Honda CR-V Owners Club Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2,096 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been buying silicone wiper blades for several years now--since they contain no natural rubber and are pure silicone, they do not change pliability based on temperature, they do not age in the sun, they do not chatter on the windshield, they do not have a "memory" (when they sit parked with the squeegee laying in one direction), and the silicone material also lasts much longer, I have found. My first set I can't remember the name of (I think the trademark name was something like Sil-Edge?), but at the time I found that Sears had the lowest price and I ordered through there. Silicone blades cost more, there's no doubt about it, but they will last much longer. (What I find is that rather than streaking, the tip of the blade will start to erode and you'll get tiny stripes of water across the windshield, much like my silicone spatulas in the kitchen wear out.)

When I got my '09, I found that same company was no longer making silicone blades. I instead bought a set for my '09 made by Piaa, but unfortunately it was one of those with the old-fashioned metal frame that does not conform to the curved window. Luckily, Piaa made silicone wipers in a beam style blade, which will conform to most anything, and they have worked out well. (The windshield on the 3rd gen CR-V is more curved, so beam blades solve that problem.)