Honda CR-V Owners Club Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I recently bought a 97 CRV with 147,000 miles from a friend for $100. Original owner, dealer maintained mostly and in good condition overall. I don't drive very often but she just wanted to get rid of it and I figured it was cheaper than cabs and rental cars.

I smelled coolant burning and took it to a trusted mechanic to look at it. He pointed out a small inch long crack on the front of the radiator where coolant was leaking out. It's the original radiator and he said he could replace it for $580 or if I wanted to buy one somewhere else, he could install it for $180.

I balked at the price since I only drive it once a week at most, though I know long-term it'd be worth the cost of a new radiator. He said I could buy an epoxy for plastic from Autozone and that might do the trick for a while.

I'm a car repair novice and would be glad for recommendations on the kind of epoxy, whether I should apply the epoxy when the car is completely cool or warm from use, and any tricks to keep the epoxy from getting into the radiator/how much to use to be effective. Also, if it matters, I live in Boston and the car is parked outside year-round, if that would impact the epoxy type.

·
Administrator
3,343 Posts
A OEM Denso radiator is just $51 on rockauto.com for your car.
I think you need a new mechanic. One that won't rip you off and treat you fairly.
Where in Mass are you located?

·
Registered
895 Posts
Epoxy wont work. It will leak just as much after its patched.

·
Registered
772 Posts
First, welcome to the forum. I got to agree with Rocky, find yourself another mechanic, this so called mechanic is a rip off artist. $180.00 to change out a radiator that you purchase is insane, it's less than a hour at most to replace it.
For what you paid for the car, forget the epoxy deal and get you a new radiator. JMHO and good luck.
David g..........:cool:

·
Registered
3,887 Posts