Honda CR-V Owners Club Forums banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello All,

First, let me apologize for the length of this post, I like to be thorough... I know there are several threads covering this issue, but none that answer my questions completely (if that’s even possible). Let me start out by saying that I am technical-minded, and pretty handy, mechanically, but have, personally, not done much more for my wife's 2001 CRV (103K miles), than replace the radiator, thermostat, change oil, battery, and other little things. I was completely unaware of the valve adjustment schedule or the valve tightening issue (unfortunately, I’m not very good with keeping up maintenance, and end up repairing after the fact… just being honest).

In the last year, the check engine light came on (misfire code), I checked the obvious (plugs, wires, etc), and reset the light. Months later, it came on again, and I did the same thing. A few months later (keep in mind that the estimate of time before the light came back on, is according to my wife…), it came back, but this time, I had the following codes, and was running a little (really, only a little) rough at idle:

P0300 – Random/Multiple Cylinder Misfire Detected
P0301 - Cylinder 1 Misfire Detected
P0302 - Cylinder 2 Misfire Detected
P0303 - Cylinder 3 Misfire Detected
P0304 - Cylinder 4 Misfire Detected
P1399 - Manufactures control Ignition system OR Misfire
P1456 - EVAP Emission Control System Leak Detected (Fuel Tank System)