Honda CR-V Owners Club Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, newbie here,
will a mk2 cover fit a mk1
also is anything else need, it fitting kit or does it just zip onto the wheel ?

·
Registered
1998 CR-V EX 4spd auto "Big Green" completely stock with roof rack and front mud flaps
390 Posts
A second-generation wheel cover should fit the spare tire of a first-generation wheel just fine. The tire size from 2002 through 2005 is supposed to be the same as 97 through 2001.

I helped my ex got her CRV before I got mine, however. Her car had a 2nd generation hard spare tire cover in it when she bought it. I was never able to get that thing to fit on the spare tire though. Somehow she managed it later on, but I am amazed anybody can get those things on the wheel.

·
Registered
97 Posts
I just thought I’d chime in here concerning tire covers. I never cared for those covers and when I bought my ‘98 it didn’t have one and I never put one on. Well, bad move as this is what can happen with the unprotected spare sitting out in the sun, rain and snow and especially when it’s not kept in a garage like our 2 CR-V’s.

What was scary was I had just finished washing the car and I had cleaned and polished the rim on the spare! Several hours later I came out of the house and this is what greeted me. Luckily there was no damage to the car or to ME!

Needless to say, I immediately started searching online for covers.There was a guy selling replacement 1st and 2nd gen. covers, (yes they’re the same), on Ebay awhile back at a bargain price. I purchased one and it was like you said Lochinvar, a real bear to get on. Took all my strength and tons of time to stretch the darn thing on.