303 Posts
Discussion Starter #1

Attachments

·
Registered
303 Posts
Discussion Starter #8 (Edited)
Lizzurd,

I relied on the two screwdriver method last week and I snapped 3 of 13 bumper clips. It is quite possibly the first time those clips had ever been removed in 11 years and the plastic had become brittle and quite impregnated with dirt that pre-spraying with WD-40 did not resolve.

Besides that, there are numerous tight spaces that simply do not allow for the space of two opposing screwdrivers. So, yes, two screwdrivers can work with pretty good success but I make my living from tools and I long ago learned its a good practice to have the correct tool for the job…especially when they cost $10.

If all you have ever used is two screwdrivers then you will be pleasantly amazed at the convenience of this well-designed tool.

Note: Way back when...I could open beer bottles with my teeth but that doesn't mean that I didn't opt for a bottle opener.

Cheers

·
Registered
507 Posts
Did not have the benefit of the tool when I replaced my bumper cover. The job can be done with screwdrivers, but why lengthen the learning curve and increase job time? Next time I will have the proper tools.

·
Everything in Moderation
8,176 Posts
I use one or two small screwdrivers as well. I'm gettin' pretty good at removing these clips (both on Hondas and other makes).

The mistake many folks make is that they think pulling on the center "button" will fully remove the clip.

WRONG...what needs to be done is to pull that center locking button out 4 - 5 mm (1/4" for the Metrically Challenged) ... then pull the rest of the clip away by pulling straight down.

ArticDriver's second pic shows the locking button in the released position, ready for the clip body to be pulled away. Yes, over the years, the bottom of the plastic will take a set (spread apart), but removal can still done without damage.

++++++++++++++++